Musings / Random

Does it really smell like teen spirit?

What’s in a smell?

As I browsed my local Foyles store this evening I mistakenly ended up in the Science department- before I even read the sign I knew what books surrounded me. It smelled identical to my school Science class. How do they do that? Do they create all Science books (and products) for that matter in a specific factory where everything is dowsed in the essence of must and periodic tables..

Maybe, or maybe not. I genuinely have no idea.

Nose

It got me thinking about how we subconsciously attach memories, people and places to certain smells. For example, the smell of Twiglets takes me back to a lodge we used to rent in the Forest of Dean (admittedly we did have a fairly major twiglet spillage on that holiday but I make the association still to this day). I absolutely love that. A simple waft of a snack packet brings a tonne of ‘Do you remember when’s.

It’s the same with people. Each of my friends, and their families respectively, have their own smell. When I step into my best friend’s house I instantly feel at home and like one of the family.

The only disappointment I feel is that my own family, and things I love but use so frequently lose their scent. Does anyone get that? You know you’re home or a piece of clothing is yours because it smells of nothing to you?

I find that sad because I want to know what my family home smells like again, and more recently I work for a beauty brand renowned for their products amazing fragrance, and yet after a year of indulging myself to the max the smell is weakening. The phrase ‘too much of a good thing’ comes to mind.

So there are two sides, I love the associations my brain makes between smells and the strangest and most distant of memories yet I wish I didn’t have to become accustomed to the smells I love so much I dowse myself in everyday.

If anyone can explain to me why all of this happens I would genuinely love to know.

Boo x

Leave a Reply

