Geek / Random

My test results: Are you addicted to your phone?

Good god test-taking is nerve-wracking. I spotted this article on Stylist.co.uk about ‘No-mobile-phobia’ AKA ‘Nomophobia’. It sounds a little all too familiar, so I decided to take the test. (As designed by Social psychologists Caglar Yildirim & Ana-Paula Correia at Iowa State University)

thinkstockphotos-472966882-edited-2

Note: The test uses a scale from 1-7 (strongly disagree-strongly agree) in case you wonder what the numbers are!

1. I would feel uncomfortable without constant access to information through my smartphone.

I’d disagree a little (3) – I don’t think I’d feel uncomfortable all the time, but knowing that I couldn’t access information whenever I wanted would probably niggle me.


2. I would be annoyed if I could not look information up on my smartphone when I wanted to do so.

I’d agree (6) – if a question or thought came up that I wanted to find out the answer to then I’d be pretty frustrated! Google is my fictional bestie.


3. Being unable to get the news (e.g., happenings, weather, etc.) on my smartphone would make me nervous.

I’d agree a little (5) – the news not so much, but I’m a slave to the BBC weather app. I couldn’t get dressed in the morning without it.


4. I would be annoyed if I could not use my smartphone and/or its capabilities when I wanted to do so.

Strongly agree! (7) If my batteries dead or my internet (I’m alway on bloody H+ not 3G) isn’t strong enough then I have to tell myself that it’s socially unacceptable to throw a hissy fit & demand my other half looks up whatever I needed to find out. (Sorry J)


5. Running out of battery in my smartphone would scare me.

Strongly agree (7). Don’t even joke about that. It’s not funny. I’ve just got my new One Plus One (battery life- ace!) & I carried around my charger for about a week because I didn’t trust it would survive the day like my old phone.


6. If I were to run out of credits or hit my monthly data limit, I would panic.

I’m in-between (4). Who the hell has credit these days?! There’s so much access to wifi these days & I always Whatsapp & Skype rather than call & text so it would be annoying but I think I’d get by.


7. If I did not have a data signal or could not connect to Wi-Fi, then I would constantly check to see if I had a signal or could find a Wi-Fi network.

I’d disagree (2) – I’m quite defeatist “I can’t get on the RUDDY internet!” *shuts phone off* so I would just give up rather than constantly checking.


8. If I could not use my smartphone, I would be afraid of getting stranded somewhere.

Agree (6) – I live by Citymapper & Google Maps. All hail navigational tech! If I was in London I’d be able to find a map pretty quickly but if I was anywhere else, no way, I’d wait for search & rescue.


9. If I could not check my smartphone for a while, I would feel a desire to check it.

Agree a little (5) – What if someone’s messaged some great goss? What if I have a new sale email from Fatface? What if the weather’s changed? What if there’s a new photo of my niece? and many more.


If I did not have my smartphone with me…

10. I would feel anxious because I could not instantly communicate with my family and/or friends.

Disagree a little (3) – It’s weird, I think I wouldn’t be too bothered knowing I could contact them when I got home/wherever my phone is.


11. I would be worried because my family and/or friends could not reach me.

Strongly agree (7) – This does scare me, I hate the thought of them trying to get hold of me & not being there. I’m a worrier!


12. I would feel nervous because I would not be able to receive text messages and calls.

I’m in-between (4) – It depends whose contacting me, if it’s my friends & family ( above) then I would be nervous but not some random trying to sell me into Squared Online.


13. I would be anxious because I could not keep in touch with my family and/or friends.

Strongly agree (7) – This is surely the same as Q11!


14. I would be nervous because I could not know, if someone had tried to get a hold of me.

Disagree (2) – If it was important they’d keep trying & I haven’t lost my phone forever.


15. I would feel anxious because my constant connection to my family and friends would be broken.

Disagree a little (3) – I have a laptop, tablet & a landline (retro) so I wouldn’t be completely disconnected.


16. I would be nervous because I would be disconnected from my online identity.

Strongly disagree (1) – I’m not Zoella


17. I would be uncomfortable because I could not stay up-to-date with social media and online networks.

Disagree (2) – I love a bit of social media, naturally, but I’d be alright.


18. I would feel awkward because I could not check my notifications for updates from my connections and online networks.

Disagree (2) – The notifications are in the cloud, they’re not going anywhere, they’ll still be waiting when I get home!


19. I would feel anxious because I could not check my email messages.

Disagree (2) – All the emails I tend to get are promotional or content-based (Sheerluxe, Emerald Street etc.) so they’re more for pleasure. I wouldn’t miss them over a short amount of time.


20. I would feel weird because I would not know what to do.

I’d strongly disagree (1) – There’s so much to do in life! I’d get real world stuff done while I wasn’t distracted by my phone.


So that gives me a result of ‘a moderate level of nomophobia’. I expected no less! Although I’m pleasantly surprised it’s not severe!

How do you score?

One thought on “My test results: Are you addicted to your phone?

Leave a Reply

